Courgette and Pear Coleslaw

November 3, 2009

I’ve actually been thinking about coleslaw for most of the day. The slaw below really came together in my mind in my financial reporting class. Sainsbury’s was devoid of both ginger and carrots, which I had originally intended to include. I couldn’t resist the conference pears though, which are delicious on their own at the moment and marvelous in here. I always choose really firm, almost under-ripe pears for eating; I think this is particularly important in coleslaw to keep the texture crunchy rather than soggy.

Disclaimer: I was really, really hungry when I got in so made this quite quickly; measurements are very approximate ( if anyone likes the sound of it I promise I’ll make it again and measure everything out!)

Serves 4 as a side dish, or 2 as a light lunch

Finely slice half a Chinese cabbage. Dice 1 red onion. Julienne 1 courgette (zucchini), 1 firm conference pear and 100g cooked beetroot. Mix together and throw in 1/2 cup raisins.

Mix together 2 tbsp Japanese Rice Vinegar, 2 tbsp wholegrain mustard, 1 tbsp runny honey and 3 tbsp mayonnaise.

Add to the vegetables and stir to coat everything. Really delicious with cold chicken.

Leave a Reply

